Getting Started
This guide is geared for the course to help students find peer-reviewed literature like primary and synthesis evidence (Foreground/Clinical questions) with the context of this research in text book chapters or narrative review articles (Background questions), and the current statistics for perspective.
Key Resources for HDE 137
Below is a list of resources:
Background resources: to provide context and understand the who, what, where, when and why of cultural determinants of health.
Foreground resources: to provide current primary and synthesis research to actively support ideas of what creates health disparities.
Statistics: an overview of demographic/geographical information.
For assignment 2, you will focus on the foreground resources to retrieve your peer-reviewed articles and utilize the year filters (on the left) to discover content in the last five years. Don't forget for the articles you include, you need to summarize:
1. Name of article (provide link)
2. Discuss the purpose of the research article (what is the point in the abstract)
3. Describe the sample population (what information about participants? - see table one, if a review - what studies were incorporated?)
4. Discuss the research findings (in results and conclusion, what contextual/structural factors were explored)?
5. Discuss the significance of the article to family and community health.
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Click Review under Document Type.
- Samuel Dubois Cook Center of Social EqualityOut of Duke University, Cook Center researchers compare the human experience of disparity in the U.S. and beyond, with a focus on economic, political, health and cultural disparities.
- HEALTH Research InstituteUniversity of Houston's effort to reduce health inequity through a multi-disciplinary approach.
- Healthy People Social Determinants of Health 2030Created by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
- Healthy People 2030 - Social Determinants of Health Literature SummariesSummaries created by the Office of Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Office of the Assistant Secretary for Health, Office of the Secretary, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.
- CQ ResearcherThis resource covers health and social trends. It includes in-depth reports with background information, timelines, figures and maps, and pro/con analyses. The reports are written by seasoned journalists.
- ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Statistical Insight combines Index and abstract records previously available from print indexes: American Statistics Index (ASI) from 1973, and Index to International Statistics (IIS)from 1980. It also includes all the annual volumes of the Statistical Abstract of the United States from 2013 to present. ProQuest Statistical Insight enables searching indexes and tables for statistics produced by the U.S. government and major international organizations. The database includes some statistical tables as well as abstracts, or summaries, of statistical publications. The Library has many of the publications indexed in print or electronic format.
- Statistical Abstracts of the World This link opens in a new windowThis resource aggregates the statistical abstracts of more than 50 countries and makes the content available through a single-search interface. These statistical abstracts are generally issued by the national statistical offices of foreign governments and contain country-level data not easily found elsewhere. Also includes data from the United Nations Demographic Yearbook, World Development Indicators, and Key Figures on Europe.
[Coverage: 1878-2012] - Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is a statistics portal that provides access to data on many different topics from more than 18,000 different sources. Topics include agriculture, advertising, health, hospitality, consumer goods, and much more. Sources are government agencies and business sources. The focus on current (not historical) statistics. Data is downloadable to Excel, PowerPoint, and JPG.
- PubMed for UC Davis This link opens in a new windowPubMed for UC Davis offers users vastly more full-text articles than does the public version of Pubmed.gov. Search results in the UCD version display "Get it at UC" buttons providing (with on-campus or VPN connection) access to articles in journals licensed by UC Davis or enabling patrons to request articles that are not immediately available online. PubMed comprises over 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
[Coverage: 1902-present] - PAIS Index This link opens in a new windowIndexes all types of materials in the area of public affairs and public policy - journal articles, books and book chapters, reports, government documents. Topics include agriculture, banking, demographics, education, environment, finance, government, health, law, legislation, political science, social sciences, and statistics.
[Coverage: 1914-present] - CINAHL Complete: Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature This link opens in a new windowCINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature) provides comprehensive coverage of the English language nursing literature. CINAHL Complete indexes over 5,000 journals on nursing, biomedical, allied health and consumer health literature. Also includes continuing education modules, evidence-based care sheets, lessons providing overviews of disease and conditions, and research instruments.
[Coverage: 1937-present] - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Large interdisciplinary abstract and citation database to academic journal literature, conference proceedings and books with broad coverage across the sciences and social sciences, includes citation tracking tools (Citescore).
[Coverage: full coverage from 1996-present, with selected coverage as far back as 1823] - Global Health This link opens in a new windowGlobal Health is a specialist bibliographic abstracting and indexing database dedicated to public health, completing the picture of international medical and health research by capturing key literature that is not covered by other databases. Derived from over 7,000 journals, reports, books and conferences, Global Health contains over 3 million scientific records from 1973 to the present. Almost 155,000 records were added last year, and over 96% of these records include an English abstract. Publications from over 100 countries in 50 languages are abstracted, and all relevant non-English-language papers are translated to give access to research not available through any other database. The database's open serials policy and coverage of international and grey literature means that 40% of material contained in Global Health is unique to the database. Everything from proceedings, theses, electronic-only publications and other hard-to-find sources are included. Global Health has a growing number of full text articles (over 90,000) from journals, conferences, and reports.
[Coverage: 1973-present]