Getting Started
Faculty:
- Laci Gerhart: lgerhart@ucdavis.edu
- Brett Poulin: bapoulin@ucdavis.edu
Use the resources on this guide to find relevant sources for your FYS 2 field work report on the Arboretum waterway and water quality.
Please fill out our Library Survey!
Key Resources for FYS 02 - Arboretum
These subject databases may be demonstrated or discussed at the library session.
Agricultural & Environmental Science database includes EIS/EIA or Environmental Impact Statements or Environmental Impact Assessments which are excellent for locating local/regional information at state/county and city or other local areas.
GeoRef (even though a geology database) is an excellent database covering literature in water resources/management areas including the testing of water quality.
The Taylor & Francis ...netBASE book collections are excellent groupings of major handbooks, texts and manuals in specific mainly STEM disciplines. WATERnetBASE is an excellent collection of these books which are quite useful for background information and methods details.
- Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new windowThis database covers environmental science topics from disciplines such as atmospheric science, biology, biotechnology, ecology, engineering, and microbiology. It also covers agricultural research including agricultural economics, animal and veterinary sciences, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, food and human nutrition, forestry, and plant sciences. It includes Environmental Impact Statements (EIS) and Digests and all the records from the National Agricultural Library's AGRICOLA database.
[Coverage: 1960-present] - GeoRef This link opens in a new windowCovers worldwide technical literature on geology, paleontology, and geophysics. Covers the geology of North America from 1666 to present and geology outside of North America from 1933 to present. Subject coverage areas include: areal geology, economic geology, engineering geology, environmental geology, extraterrestrial geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mathematical geology, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, stratigraphy, structural geology, surficial geology.
- WATERnetBASECollection of nearly 900 books providing “expert advice on groundwater, harbor, lake, and wastewater management. The e-references contained in this collection consider the characteristics and behavior of water from engineering, agricultural, biological, and environmental perspectives, and explore solutions from around the world.”