Getting Started
FACULTY: Lynn Kimsey — lskimsey@ucdavis.edu
Use the resources on this guide to find relevant sources for your ENT 100 insect paper.
UC Davis has one of the most extensive entomology collections in the University of California Library system. In particular, the bee biology and pollination biology collection located at Shields Library is world-class, with materials in a wide variety of languages and formats (DVDs, conference proceedings, field guides, children’s books etc.) and 100s of rarer volumes from the 1800s and earlier.
The Carlson Health Sciences Library (closed as of June 2022) held veterinary-related titles pertaining to entomology and titles concerned with human diseases caused by insect vectors in the field of medical entomology. These resources are now noted in the UCD Library Catalog as being located in 'Temporary Storage.' These resources can be requested for delivery to check out from the Shields Library or shipped to your home; or for digitization of chapters or articles.
Key Resources for ENT 100
These subject databases may be demonstrated or discussed at the library session.
Search BIOSIS Previews for basic biology of an insect including: anatomy and physiology, behavior, ecology, genetics, molecular biology, nutrition and feeding, reproduction, and taxonomy and systematics. BIOSIS Previews is also excellent for searching insect models for studying genetics, development, and more such as Drosophila.
Search CAB Abstracts for insects that are beneficial to agriculture (pollinators, natural predators) or insect pests in agriculture.
Use Zoological Record for rarer species which mostly have scientific literature from field work/studies.
Search ASFA for insect stages that are used in evaluation of stream quality (environmental indicators).
All life sciences subject databases will have taxonomic searching features available for searching by various taxa groups such as phyla or orders or families.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] - CAB Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals and conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records. HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted below the UC-eLinks button). These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports 80 percent of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
[Coverage: 1910-present] - Zoological Record This link opens in a new windowPrimary database for wildlife researchers. The oldest continuing database of animal biology - designed to include all records of new species information and naming. Comprehensive coverage of zoology; including behavior, conservation and environmental science, ecology, evolution, genetics, habitat, marine and freshwater biology, nutrition, parasitology and disease, reproduction, taxonomy and systematics, veterinary studies, zoogeography and fossil records. Especially strong in new species reports and field studies.
[Coverage: 1864-Present] - Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
UCD's most important database on the biology, ecology, technology and management of marine, freshwater, and brackish water environments and organisms. Database consists of the following subfiles: ASFA 1: Biological Sciences and Living Resources; ASFA 2: Ocean Technology, Policy and Non-Living Resources; ASFA 3: Aquatic Pollution and Environmental Quality; ASFA Aquaculture Abstracts; and ASFA Marine Biotechnology Abstracts.
[Coverage: 1971-present; varies by subfile,earlier for selected core titles]
