ANS 137: Avian Growth Laboratory

Since UC Davis has the only Animal Science department in the University of California, the UC Davis Library has the only University of California library collection supporting this area.  If not online, nearly all animal science-related print materials will be found in Shields Library. UC Davis has one separate health sciences library for clinical human medicine (Blaisdell Medical Library at the UC Davis Medical Center in Sacramento) and all remaining sciences collections are at Shields Library. Some animal science information may also be found as part of the Government Information collection of Shields Library, Lower Level.

Avian/Poultry Science collections are located on the 3rd floor of Shields Library in the SF 480s-490s call number area. Please refer to the Shields Library floor maps.

• Government Information Collection (Shields Library)  —  The UC Davis Library is a federal and state depository library with extensive historical and current collections in print, microform, and electronic formats. The UC Davis Library collects extensively from major international, and intergovernmental organizations, selectively from local jurisdictions, and on a very limited basis from foreign governments. Agriculture, forestry, the environment, and ecology are areas of strength. The UC Davis Library collects comprehensively from the U.S. Congress and California Legislature, along with federal and state laws and regulations. The Library’s collection of technical report literature is extensive. We emphasize statistical data in all collecting areas. Most government documents and maps are listed in the UC Library Search. Some materials, such as technical reports and historical documents, may require specialized indexes and assistance from reference librarians.

*Please note

The Carlson Health Sciences Library (HSL) closed in June 2022 and the collections are being transferred to various locations: Shields Library 3rd floor, Blaisdell Medical Library (clinical medical materials) and Northern Regional (UC or University of California) Library (Storage) Facility in Richmond. Materials currently located in Temporary Storage (at the old HSL) may be requested for checkout at Shields or for digitization.  NOTE: The Carlson Health Sciences library housed materials to support VetMed resources which are classed in the SF area.  This is the only VetMed library collection in the UC Library system.