Getting Started
FACULTY: Rachel Vannette — rlvannette@ucdavis.edu & Amanda Hodson — akhodson@ucdavis.edu
Use the resources on this guide to find relevant sources for your ABI scientific paper.
Animal-Related Library Collections: UC Davis has the most extensive organismal animal research library collections in the University of California Library system. The UCD Library supports the UCD departments and faculty of:
- Animal Science (CA&ES – College of Ag & Envi Sci);
- Entomology & Nematology (CA&ES);
- Evolution & Ecology (CBS – College of Biol Sci);
- Neurobiology, Physiology & Behavior (CBS)
- Wildlife, Fish & Conservation Biology (CA&ES)
as well as the only School of Veterinary Medicine in the University of California. Graduate level collections also support the Center for Population Biology, and graduate programs in Animal Behavior, Animal Biology, and Avian Sciences. UCD also has the only Primate Center in the UC system and many researchers there are faculty in departments or schools listed above or in the Evolutionary Wing of the Anthropology department, College of Letters & Science.
Please fill out our Library Survey!
Key Resources for ABI 50A
These subject databases may be demonstrated or discussed at the library session.
BIOSIS Previews is the world’s largest biological database and is important for locating information on the basic biology of organisms. BIOSIS is on the Web of Science searching interface and have a variety of subject terms but the main ones are called CONCEPT CODES.
CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) Abstracts is the world’s largest agriculture database and has information on:
- Pollinators that are beneficial to agriculture
- Pests in agriculture, including forestry
PLEASE NOTE: All life sciences subject databases will have taxonomic searching features available for searching by various taxa groups such as phyla or orders or families.
- BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new windowBIOSIS Previews is a database for researching the biological sciences literature. Designed by biologists for keeping up with the literature across pure and applied life sciences including agriculture and medicine. Excellent features for searching by taxonomic categories and broad concept codes (subject categories). More than 27 million records in all life science areas, including agriculture, biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, environmental biology, genetics, microbiology, plant biology, veterinary medicine & pharmacology, and zoology. Indexes over 6,000 journals, serials, books and book chapters, conference proceedings and patents.
[Coverage: 1926-present] - CAB Abstracts (Ovid) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Provides citations and abstracts to the international agricultural literature, including veterinary medicine, human and animal nutrition, forestry, rural development, as well as other related topics such as tourism and human ecology. Covers over 11,000 journals and conference proceedings and selected books in agriculture. Produced by CAB (Commonwealth Agricultural Bureaux) International (CABI) with more than 10 million records. HISTORICAL SCOPE: Archive abstracts added in August 2005 go back to 1910 with 1,860,000 additional records. CAB DATABASE PDFs: As of January 2009, hard-to-find literature may be available as CAB Database PDFs (so noted below the UC-eLinks button). These CABI Full Text items give users automatic access to over 350,000 journal articles, conference papers and reports 80 percent of which are not available electronically anywhere else. NOTE: the default UCD Search Type is set to Advanced Ovid Search.
[Coverage: 1910-present]
