Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Materials Science

Spectra

Online Spectra

Below are some freely available sites that provide a limited number of spectra online. See the database options and print spectra listed below if the substance you are looking for is not available online.

Databases

The SciFinder and REAXYS databases can be used to locate references to spectra and/or spectral data in the chemical literature. SciFinder provides online access to some spectra, REAXYX provides literature references only.

 

Print Spectra

The Library has a large collection of print spectra. Frequently used titles are listed below, additional titles are available as well (browse the Reference or General collection shelves in the call number range QC437.A29 through QD421.H68 or search the Library catalog).

 

ALDRICH SPECTRA

An easy to use collection of over 60,000 spectra.

Location: Shields Reference Area, mainly  (2nd Floor) and general collection (3rd floor)
Indexes: are located in the back of each multi-volume set.

Aldrich Library of 13 C and 1 H FT NMR spectra QD96 F68 P67 1993, Reference 3 volumes
Aldrich Library of FT-IR spectra QD96 I5 P66 1985, Reference 2 volumes
Aldrich Library of Infrared spectra QD96 I5 P67 1981, Reference 1 volume
Aldrich Library of NMR spectra QD96 N8 P68 1983, Reference 2 volumes
Aldrich Library of NMR spectra QC762 P68, General Collection 11 volumes

 

SADTLER SPECTRA

A very large collection of over 200,000 spectra.

Location: Shields General Collection (3rd  Floor)

Indexes: are separate volumes

Standard IR Grating Spectra QC457 S3 123 volumes
Ultra Violet Spectra QC459 S25 170 volumes
Standard Proton NMR Spectra QC762 S26 118 volumes
Carbon-13 NMR Spectra QC762 S28 210 volumes

Largest Sadtler Sets Are Listed Above.  Many smaller sets are available.