Research Guides: IAD 200N: International Development: (P)research your Topic

Start with News and Background Sources

Background sources are meant to help you get a basic understanding on a topic and can include news sources, government websites, books, and more. They will help you:

gain insight and introductory knowledge on topics you may be unfamiliar with
identify key terms and vocabulary associated with a topic you’re investigating
connect you with additional readings/information sources on your topic

USAID IDEA (International Data & Economic Analysis)
IDEA is a public repository of third-party development data that is maintained by the Data Services team within the U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID).
UN Human Development Reports
Human Development Reports (HDRs) have been released most years since 1990 and have explored different themes through the human development approach. The human development approach is about expanding the richness of human life, rather than simply the richness of the economy in which human beings live. It is an approach that is focused on people and their opportunities and choices.
World Happiness Report
The World Happiness Report reflects a worldwide demand for more attention to happiness and well-being as criteria for government policy. It reviews the state of happiness in the world today and shows how the science of happiness explains personal and national variations in happiness.
ForeignAssistance.gov
ForeignAssistance.gov is the U.S. government’s flagship website for making U.S. foreign assistance data available to the public. The primary objective of the site is to fulfill the requirements set forth in the Foreign Aid Transparency and Accountability Act of 2016 (FATAA) through the collection, tracking, and publication of the full lifecycle of all USG foreign assistance data.
NGO Aid Map
Use NGO Aid Map to explore Member organizations’ work, through the stories they tell including story maps, data visualizations, short films, photo essays, program reports, and more. The Map also includes country features, in-depth profiles of the issues InterAction and its Members are working to address, and spotlights on active crises.

News Sources:

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues.

GreenWire
Comprehensive, daily coverage of environmental and energy politics and policy, includes summaries of important energy and environmental policy coverage from hundreds of print, broadcast and online sources, including editorials. Greenwire's archive of key documents provides direct links to reports, analyses, memos, court cases and over 30,000 Greenwire stories.
ClimateWire
Critical reporting on daily news and events pertaining to the climate and its effect on business, society and the environment.

Economist (Current) This link opens in a new window
Subscription to the weekly magazine back to 1997 and full access to interactive features, special reports, the Economist app (for Android and iOS), the Economist audio version and podcasts, and the Economist digital newsletters. Access for UC Davis patrons is provided using your ucdavis.edu email domain, that means users need to visit economist.com and create individual accounts with their xxx@ucdavis.edu email addresses.
Gender Watch This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Publications include academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings, and government, NGO and special reports.

IAD 200N: International Development

Start with News and Background Sources

Recommended:

News Sources: