Books/e-Books
Find Books in the UC Davis Library Collections
Search for print and ebooks:
- UC Library Search
Sign in (via top right corner) with your UC Davis login for full access to available features, including loan periods, online book renewals, and ability to request items that are in storage or checked out to another borrower.
Locate books in person:
- Understanding Call Numbers
Explains how to read a Library of Congress call number.
Access eBooks online via the databases:
- CAB eBooks This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
CABI ebooks provides access to over 1,200 titles in the areas of: Agriculture, Forestry and Food; Veterinary and Animal Sciences; Environmental and Natural Sciences; Plant Sciences; Human Health; Biotechnology, Engineering, Mathematics, Statistics and Techniques; Natural, Medicinal and Industrial End-products; Economics and Social Sciences; and Tourism, Hospitality, and Travel. Note: This collection includes a majority of titles published by CAB, but not all titles. In particular, the publisher has chosen not to include textbooks in this package.
[Coverage: 2000-present]
- Science Direct eBook CollectionThousands of e-books with broad and favorable rights for scientific, scholarly and educational uses. Subjects include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. EXCLUSIONS to the Elsevier collection are textbooks, major reference works, some professional and trade titles, and consumer books. NOTE: Green symbol on right indicates if accessible.
- Springer eBooks CollectionSpringer eBooks includes more than 60,000 titles in English (and selectively in German) from every scientific discipline and many social sciences. Coverage: 2005-2020. This online interface enables all books to be searchable at the full-text level. Scope (textbook areas are starred) ranges from Architecture and Design, *Behavioral Science, *Biomedical and Life Sciences, *Business and Economics, *Chemistry and Materials Science, *Computer Science, *Earth and Environmental Science, *Engineering, *Humanities & Social Sciences and Law, *Mathematics and Statistics, *Medicine, *Physics and Astronomy, to Professional and Applied Computing. NEW books are added monthly. NOTE: Springer puts out new year titles 6 months before the new year date. Our contract is from Jan-Dec so a very recent book may not be accessible the first months of the new year. For example a 2021 book may be released in August 2020 but is NOT accessible until well into 2021.
Read Less
Coverage: 2005-2022 - Taylor & Francis eBooksFull-text searching across the ebooks and major reference works published by Taylor & Francis and its imprints: CRC Press, Routledge, Garland and Psychology Press. Browse list of titles available. Disciplinary scope and coverage vary. Former CRCnetBASE collections incorporated in this collection include: AGRICULTUREnetBASE, BiomedicalSCIENCEnetBASE, CHEMnetBASE, ENGnetBASE, ENVIROnetBASE, FOODnetBASE, FORENSICnetBASE, MATHnetBASE, NUTRITIONnetBASE, STATSnetBASE and VETnetBASE (VetMed). Also included are newer Burleigh Dodds ebooks for agriculture.
- Wageningen Academic Publishers eBooksUC Davis has current years of eBooks licensed from this large university publisher of agriculture-related books. “Wageningen Academic Publishers is an independent STM publisher operating worldwide in the field of Life Sciences. Located at the heart of one of the world’s most famous food & agriculture research centres, we focus on topics in Animal and Veterinary, Food and Health, Agribusiness and Rural Studies, Agriculture and Environment. We currently publish ... around 30 new books per year.” Exclusions: textbooks
- Wiley eBooks CollectionFull-text searching and access to more than 22,000 ebooks from the life, physical, health, and social sciences, as well as the humanities disciplines.
Coverage: 1790 - present