Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
TRIAL ACCESS: 2/17/25 thru 5/16/25
AM Explorer Arts and Humanities provides access to a range of primary-source collections, spanning the 15th century to the modern period. Collections consist of digitized historic and archival materials including manuscripts, government records, rare books, maps and more.
Use keyword searches to find materials on a topic, or browse individual collections via the Collections page. Collections can also be searched by theme, time period, and region.
Use the Search Guide for guidance on how to find the materials you need.
Note: AM resources accessible via this platform, that are not already subscribed to or purchased, are not downloadable. Resources included in this platform that the library has already subscribed to or purchased are fully accessible via direct links in the catalog or AZDB list.
AM Explorer Arts and Humanities provides access to a range of primary-source collections, spanning the 15th century to the modern period. Collections consist of digitized historic and archival materials including manuscripts, government records, rare books, maps and more.
Use keyword searches to find materials on a topic, or browse individual collections via the Collections page. Collections can also be searched by theme, time period, and region.
Use the Search Guide for guidance on how to find the materials you need.
Note: AM resources accessible via this platform, that are not already subscribed to or purchased, are not downloadable. Resources included in this platform that the library has already subscribed to or purchased are fully accessible via direct links in the catalog or AZDB list.
Research Skills Foundations introduces humanities and social-science students to key approaches and methodologies used to work with primary source material. Designed to be used in the classroom or for independent study. Includes these modules: Research Skills Foundations, and Interrogating Colonial Documents and Narratives.
Both modules provide:
Learning Tools: essays, videos and “how to” guides that introduce the key concepts of conducting research and analyzing primary sources.
Case Studies: peer-reviewed Case Studies show students how to analyze primary sources and demonstrate how professional historians use them for their own research.
Practice Sources: historical documents sourced from archives, can be browsed by type of source or historical theme.
For search help, see: AM Research Skills User Guide
Both modules provide:
Learning Tools: essays, videos and “how to” guides that introduce the key concepts of conducting research and analyzing primary sources.
Case Studies: peer-reviewed Case Studies show students how to analyze primary sources and demonstrate how professional historians use them for their own research.
Practice Sources: historical documents sourced from archives, can be browsed by type of source or historical theme.
For search help, see: AM Research Skills User Guide
Primary source collection on medieval and early modern Europe and the Americas, consisting of ebooks and etexts. The subcollections include: Arthurian Legends and the Influence of French Prose Romance; Black Death Sources Concerning the European Plague; Crown Servants (Series 1-3); Early Music; English Clandestine Satire; Foxe and the English Reformation; History of Science and Technology; Masculinity; Medieval and Early Modern Women; Orinda; Renaissance Man; Receipt Books, c1575-1800; and Spanish Historical Writing about the New World.
The Olympic Movement is a collection of digitized primary sources covering the history of the modern Olympic and Paralympic games, from the first modern Olympic Games in 1896 to the 1992 Summer Olympics and Paralympics held in Barcelona, Spain. It also includes materials related to regional competitions such as the Pan-American Games.
Topics covered include perspectives on: the history of international sporting events, the development of athletic events for people with disabilities, women and gender in sports (including barriers to women's participation), racism and prejudice in sports, international relations and conflicts, and more. A wide variety of document types are included, such as correspondence, newspapers and clippings, pamphlets, press releases, images, film, and more. Highlights include documents/correspondence related to:
Topics covered include perspectives on: the history of international sporting events, the development of athletic events for people with disabilities, women and gender in sports (including barriers to women's participation), racism and prejudice in sports, international relations and conflicts, and more. A wide variety of document types are included, such as correspondence, newspapers and clippings, pamphlets, press releases, images, film, and more. Highlights include documents/correspondence related to:
- the campaign to re-instate medals awarded to the Indigenous American athlete, Jim Thorpe
- unsuccessful bids to host the Olympics, and add additional sports to the Olympic program
- controversies, boycotts, activism, and protests
- early development of the Paralympic Movement