Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

A-Z Databases

Many of these databases are licensed specially for the UC Davis Library and can be accessed while you are on the UC Davis campus. Off-campus access is available to current faculty, students and staff using the library VPN or UC Davis Health VPN.

Loading...

Icon Guide

No login required
UC Davis login option available
New Newly licensed database
Trial Database under evaluation

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Al-Ahram Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
New
Founded in 1875, Al-Ahram (الأهرام‎, “The Pyramids”) is one of the most prominent Arabic newspapers in the Middle East, including its legacy as Egypt’s most authoritative and influential national daily, with a circulation of over 1 million. The newspaper established itself as a high-quality journalistic venture during the mid-20th century.
[1876-2019, with annual updates]
American Energy Society This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): AES
Association for energy professionals that provides non-partisan energy news, insights, and professional development opportunities. Our campus subscription provides current students, faculty, and staff, access to member benefits, free of charge. Includes access to publications, all reports and white papers, podcasts, a comprehensive archive, energy ecosystem maps, and trend-spotting analytics.
New users will need to register for an individual account using a valid UC Davis email address.
View the AES Privacy Policy.
Atlantic Magazine Archive, 1857-2014 This link opens in a new window
New
The Atlantic Magazine Archive, 1857-2014, covers events and political issues through literary and cultural commentary. It includes more than 1,800 issues providing a broad view of 19th, 20th and early 21st-Century American thought.
CABI Compendium This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): CABI data sheets, datasheets
Limited to single user

The CABI Compendium brings together data and research on species, pests and diseases across agriculture, aquaculture, livestock production, and the environment. Areas covered include: animal health and production, aquaculture, crop protection, forestry, horticulture, invasive species.

Primary focus is datasheets, which typically include (as appropriate to the topic): identity, taxonomy, overview, distribution, dispersal, biology, ecology, environmental requirements, natural enemies, natural enemies of, diseases and disorders, hosts/species affected, vectors and intermediate hosts, natural enemies, impacts, uses, prevention/control, seedborne aspects, further information.

Also includes diagnostic and decision support tools: Horizon Scanning Tool, Pest Risk Analysis Tool, and Invasive Species Discovery Tool.
China and the Modern World This link opens in a new window
New
China and the Modern World: Missionary, Sinology, and Literary Periodicals, 1817–1949 is a collection of seventeen English-language periodicals published in or about China during a period of over 130 years extending from 1817 until 1949, when the People’s Republic of China was founded. This corresponds to the periods of the late Qing Dynasty and the Republican Era (1911-1949).
China Statistical Yearbooks Database This link opens in a new window
New
Alternate Name(s): 中国经济社会发展统计数据库
A collection of Chinese statistical yearbooks. Authorized by China Statistics Press, providing comprehensive and continuous official statistics.
1949-2022
Hispanic American Newspapers (1808-1980) This link opens in a new window
New
Over 360 Spanish-language newspapers from 15 states (including California) published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Search, browse and view article and page images.
New
Latino Civil Rights During the Carter Administration gives rich insight into the efforts of the Executive Branch of U.S. government to reach out to the Latino population during the last 2 years of the Carter Administration
New
Primary source collections covering protest, advocacy, and political demonstration activities of American college students in the 20th and 21st centuries, ranging from the most conservative to the most radical.
Loading...
title
Loading...